Reflecting on My First Week

IMG_1273

I has been a very eye opening and amazing week for me. For so long I struggled with my weight and food, trying different diets and exercise routines to no avail. I have watched both Food, Inc. and Supersize Me along with countless other videos floating around the interwebs. I had the knowledge on the monumental amount of sugar and, quite frankly, CRAP being put into our food but it truly did not sink in until this week.

The “Aha!” moment occurred to me a few days ago as I brainstormed ideas for my week two meal plan. Google unit converter and Fat Secret’s nutritional information became my go-to tools. The more I researched and laid out my options the more I found how absolutely disgusted I was with the sugar count in packaged foods. Everything, literally, EVERYTHING has sugar or some variety of carbohydrate additive in it. Can’t a girl just have a piece of jerky without nearly my entire day’s worth of carbs in it?!

This is what has inspired me to keep moving forward with keto. One step, one meal at a time. Little by little I find new food, expand my horizons and gain even more confidence in my latest life choice. This week I have made tremendous emotional progress. That alone keeps me inspired to continue on but I also made some great physical progress.

In my first week on keto I am down nearly 10 pounds. I have more energy and don’t feel sluggish in the afternoons. It is truly hard to put into words how much better my body feels. Next week my goal is to start setting time aside for Yoga again to heal my body and my mind inside and out.

 

6 comments

  1. dyane · July 25, 2016

    Wow – this is amazing! Congratulations! I really want to do the keto switch (I’ve been reading “Keto Clarity”) but I’m overwhelmed, and simply not quite ready – your blog inspires me! :))))

    Liked by 1 person

    • tuelie · July 25, 2016

      I felt the same way for over a year before taking the jump. You can do it! It is so worth it in the end.

      I plan on writing a guide for a beginner’s first week. Hopefully it could help. Feel free to drop me any questions you have 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. HopeVsHeadaches · July 26, 2016

    I am in my first week too and enjoying it but I think it’s just getting used to it. I’m doing it for migraines though. Great blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Keto Switch · July 27, 2016

      That’s interesting! I was unaware that keto could aide in treating migraines. I hope it helps you and you find relief!

      Like

  3. dyane · July 26, 2016

    Thanks so much! A beginner’s guide sounds awesome. I have two young girls and a husband & my dog Lucy; none of them want to try keto except maybe Lucy, but that’s okay! 😉

    Sorry to take so long to reply – it has been a hecic week! Can’t wait to try that keto coffee! :))))
    take care & keep up the great work,

    Dyane

    Liked by 1 person

    • Keto Switch · July 27, 2016

      With kiddos what week isn’t a hectic week! =) Let me know what you think of the coffee! If you find any other good recipes feel free to pass them along.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

