Week 3 – It’s all in the macros

salmonandavocado

I can’t believe it’s already been three weeks. I’m back to making progress this week by following my macros more closely and I’m down about another 3 pounds. I picked up Smackfat Ketone Strips last week to start tracking whether or not I am in ketosis. I was unsure and worrying a lot about what I was eating. Knowing I’m passing ketones and in full ketosis is worth the $10.

This week we also had a date night and a family trip to the local amusement park. I am quite proud of myself to report that I did not “cheat” on my diet. I found some great low carb options on the menu. I brought lots of water to the amusement park and, my favorite, Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Quest Bar. While I was there I also had a bun free burger that wasn’t too bad! The more I eat out the more confident I’m getting about what things I should and should not eat. I generally like to scope places out ahead of time and check out their nutrition menu before going though. I really wish all restaurants had their full nutrition menu online. It would make life a lot easier!

I have also worked on quite a few new recipes these past few days and will get those up to share soon. So far, I’ve only struck out on one dish – which happened earlier this week. I tried shirataki noodles with low carb spaghetti sauce. I couldn’t handle the texture on the noodles. I tried to force myself to eat them but it was too much for me. I’m hoping to maybe try a different type of shirataki noodle in a soup dish but I’m not holding my breath.

Here we go for week 4! I can’t wait to report back on my first month on keto next week. I’d like to set a new goal for myself. I’m assuming it will be around exercise (something I have always struggled with). We’ll see how that goes next week!

Leave a Reply

